Hours & Directions

Hours

Monday - Thursday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Holiday Closures

New Year's Day: Closed Monday, January 1, 2018
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: Closed Monday, January 15, 2018
Presidents' Day: Closed Monday, February 19, 2018
Easter: Closed Sunday, April 1, 2018
Patriots' Day: Closed Monday, April 16, 2018
Memorial Day: Closed Monday, May 28, 2018
Independence Day: Closed Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day: Closed Monday, September 3, 2018
Columbus Day: Closed Monday, October 8, 2018
Veterans Day: Closed Sunday, November 11, 2018
Thanksgiving:
Closing at 5 p.m. Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Closed Thursday, November 22, 2018
Christmas:
Closing at noon Monday, December 24, 2018
Closed Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Open Wednesday, December 26, 2018 from 1-6 p.m.

Directions 

Physical Address

123 Main Street
Watertown, MA 02472

Directions From the West

  1. Take Route 20 East (Main Street) to Watertown Square
  2. Watertown Free Public Library is at 123 Main Street

Directions From the East

  1. Take Route 16 (Mt. Auburn Street) west
  2. Turn right on Main Street
  3. Watertown Free Public Library is at 123 Main Street

Public Transportation

The library is accessible via MBTA Bus routes 52, 57, 59, 70, 70A, 71, Express 502, and Express 504. It is less than a five minute walk to the library from the buses that arrive at Watertown Yard.

Parking

Limited metered parking is in back of the library and on the street.

All parking is metered, on the street and behind the library with a 2 hour limit. Parking is $0.25 per half hour. The meters are monitored Mondays through Saturdays between the hours of 7 a.m. and 6 p.m. Sundays are free.

Book Drops

In addition to the book drops in the front and rear of the Library there is a drive up book drop on Thaxter Street between the Library and Town Hall. There are also two remote book drops conveniently located in town that are emptied daily. One is next to the Middle School (68 Waverly Avenue) on Bemis and Waverly Streets. The other is at the Hosmer Elementary School (1 Concord Road) on Boylston Street.