WFPL Blog

...and livin' is easy!

Summertime provides a period of relaxation for most of us.  Last week’s entry on barbequing put us in the mood for summer cooking.  Explore ways how you may experience summer living:&nbsp

A perfect time to Barbeque!

It’s hot. Some would say it’s too hot.  You want to eat, but you don’t want to turn on the stove, thus adding another 400 degrees to your already steaming house.

Reading Ruts

We all get stuck from time to time when it comes to picking our next read, even librarians. Maybe it’s because the last book was so good that every one we pick up after seems to fall short.

Select Your Own Title now available on library tablets!

You probably already know that the library lends ereaders and tablets.  We periodically update these devices with a variety of bestsellers and classics for your reading pleasure.  Unfortu

June is Audiobook Month!

I could not live without audiobooks. That may sound melodramatic, but it’s true.

Flour, too: Indispensable Recipes for the Café’s Most Loved Sweets & Savories

I have a rule for myself when it comes to books, if I have checked a title more than three times I am allowed to buy it for myself. I have to admit though, that I recently broke that rule.

Remembering Those Who Served

Around Memorial Day our thoughts turn to honoring those service men and women who gave their lives and those who served their country in time of war.  The annual Memorial Day parade which is s

One Book, One Watertown 2013

Each year, the Watertown Free Public Library chooses a book, encourages everyone in the community to read along with us, and hosts a variety of programs related to the book.   We call thi

The Great Gatsby Soundtrack

Baz Luhrmann’s highly anticipated film The Great Gatsby was released this past week along with the film’s star-studded soundtrack.  Though the film, like Fitzgerald’s novel, is set in

What to read after Gone Girl?

If you’ve finished Gone Girl and you are looking for more like it, or if you can’t get your hands on it yet, check out this list of read-alikes:

Pages

Feedback