Graphic Novel Recommendations

Suggestions from Kelly, WFPL Teen Librarian

Book cover for "Awkward" shows two children at desks

Awkward 

by Svetlana Chmakova | Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids. Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them. On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, Jaime Thompson, she's already broken the first rule, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend." How does she handle this crisis? By shoving poor Jaime and running away!

Book cover for "Ms. Marvel" shows a person in a black t-shirt with a lightning bolt

Ms. Marvel 

written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona | Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City - until she is suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the all-new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman?

Book cover for "Check, Please!" shows a hockey player in a red uniform on ice

Check, Please! 

by Ngozi Ukazu | Eric Bittle may be a former junior figure skating champion, vlogger extraordinaire, and very talented amateur pâtissier, but being a freshman on the Samwell University hockey team is a whole new challenge. It is nothing like co-ed club hockey back in Georgia! And then, there is Jackhis very attractive but moody captain.

Book cover for "Gotham Academy" shows a person with white hair surrounded by orange flames

Gotham Academy 

written by Becky Cloonan & Brenden Fletcher, illustrated by Karl Kerschl | Welcome to Gotham Academy, the most prestigious school in Gotham City. Only the best and brightest students may enter its halls, study in its classrooms, explore its secret passages, summon its terrifying spirits…Okay, so Gotham Academy isn’t like other schools. But Olive Silverlock isn’t like other students. After a mysterious incident over summer break, she’s back at school with a bad case of amnesia, an even worse attitude…and an unexplained fear of bats.

Book cover for "Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me" shows the back of a person wit a pink ja

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me 

written by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Rosemary Valero-O’Connell | Laura Dean, the most popular girl in high school, was Frederica Riley's dream girl: charming, confident, and SO cute. There's just one problem: Laura Dean is maybe not the greatest girlfriend.

Suggestions from Kazia, WFPL Children's Librarian

Book cover for "Green Lantern Legacy" shows a person with fist raised

Green Lantern Legacy 

written by Minh Le, illustrated by Andie Tong | When thirteen-year-old Tai inherits his grandma’s jade ring, he quickly realizes it’s more than just a family heirloom. It gives him superpowers and makes him a member of a secret intergalactic crime-fighting organization! It’s a perfect page-turner for fans of Miles Morales and Kamala Khan.

Book cover for "Red Panda and Moon Bear" shows two children running

Red Panda & Moon Bear 

written and illustrated by Jarod Rosello | Latinx siblings Red Panda and Moon Bear are determined to get to the bottom of their neighborhood’s recent bout of “supervillains, alien invaders, and time warps” with the help of their magical hoodies and teamwork (of course)! This is a quick and quirky read for anyone who likes hilarious hijinks. 

Book cover for "Baba Yagas Assistant" shows a blue monster-person with long fingers

Baba Yaga’s Assistant 

written by Marika McCoola, illustrated by Emily Carroll | Local author McCoola spins the eerie, empowering tale of Masha, a girl who runs away from her newly blended family to work for legendary Russian witch Baba Yaga. Carroll’s lush illustrations bring the spooky atmosphere to life and make this a perfect October read!

Book Cover For "Deadendia The Watchers Test" shows three people around a glowing orb

Deadendia: The Watcher’s Test

written and illustrated by Hamish Steele | Trans teen Barney works and lives at Dead End, a theme park haunted house. What he doesn’t know is that the house is actually a portal between our world and hell! This horror-comedy has strong Adventure Time vibes, and a TV adaptation will premier on Netflix next year. 

Book cover for "Goldie Vance" shows three people on a yellow background

Goldie Vance 

written by Hope Larson, illustrated by Brittney Williams | Teenage amateur sleuth Goldie Vance lives with her dad at the Florida resort he manages. When the resort’s in-house detective discovers a mystery he can’t solve, Goldie jumps in to crack the case! With vintage vibes, this is a great read for fans of Nancy Drew and other spunky sleuths!

Suggestions from Dave, owner of The Comic Stop

Book cover for "When Stars Are Scattered" shows two people walking under a night sky

When Stars Are Scattered

by Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed (Grades 4-7) | The story of 2 brothers living in a refugee camp in Kenya. The author Jamieson bases her book open the real-life story of Omar Mohamed as he flees Somalia with his younger brother. Their adolescence is plagued by hunger, lack of medical care & loneliness but beyond these challenges lie hope & the lasting importance of family.

Book cover for "SUPERSONS THE POLARSHIELD PROJECT" shows three young people standing in water

Supersons: The Polar Shield Project

by Ridley Pearson & Ile Gonzales (Grades 4-7) | Jon Kent & Damian Wayne must join forces to prevent a global catastrophe. These two men share little in common except they are the sons of 2 of the World's greatest heroes--Superman & Batman. This is Part 1 in an epic 3-part series!

Check out this title at The Comic Stop!

Book cover for "PAPERGIRLS Vol. 1" shows four girls in blue/black ink

Papergirls, Vol. 1

by Brian K. Vaughan & Cliff Chiang (Grades 7-12) | This mystery/science fiction graphic novel begins in the early morning hours after Halloween in 1988. Four newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. For fans of Stranger Things--check it out today!

Book cover for "CIVIL WAR" shows two superheros fighting

Civil War 

by Mark Millar & Steve McNiven (Grades 7-12) | One of Marvel Comics most popular story-lines, this classic graphic novel serves as the inspiration for the big-screen movie--Captain America Civil War! With great writing & awesome illustrations this book begs the question--"Whose side are you on"?

Check out this title at The Comic Stop!

Book cover for "WINGS OF FIRE Vol. 1 The Dragonet Prophecy" shows a dragon flying over water

Wings of Fire Vol. 1: The Dragonet Prophecy

by Tui T. Sutherland with illustrations by Mike Holmes. (Grades 4-7) | Local author shout-out! This award-winning prose series has now been adapted into a line of exciting graphic novels. It's "Lord of the Rings" for younger readers!