Hours & Directions

Hours

For ages 65 + and those with underlying health conditions:

  • Monday - Friday: 9 AM - 10 AM

For all patrons:

  • Monday - Thursday: 10 AM - 7 PM
  • Friday: 10 AM - 5 PM
  • Saturday: 9 AM - 12 PM
  • Sunday: Closed

Holiday Closures

2021:

New Year’s Day: Closed Friday, January 1, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: Closed Monday, January 18, 2021
Presidents Day: Closed Monday, February 15, 2021
Easter: Closed Sunday, April 4, 2021
Patriots’ Day: Closed Monday, April 19, 2021
Memorial Day: Closed Monday, May 31, 2021
Independence Day: Closed Sunday, July 4, 2021
Labor Day: Closed Monday, September 6, 2021
Columbus Day: Closed Monday, October 11, 2021
Veterans Day: Closed Thursday, November 11, 2021
Thanksgiving:
Closing at 5 PM Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Closed Thursday, November 25, 2021
Christmas:
Closing at noon Friday, December 24, 2021
Closed Saturday, December 25, 2021
Open Sunday, December 26, 2021 from 1–7 PM
New Year’s Eve: Closing at 5 PM Friday, December 31, 2021

Directions 

Physical Address

123 Main Street
Watertown, MA 02472

Directions From the West

  1. Take Route 20 East (Main Street) to Watertown Square
  2. Watertown Free Public Library is at 123 Main Street

Directions From the East

  1. Take Route 16 (Mt. Auburn Street) west
  2. Turn right on Main Street
  3. Watertown Free Public Library is at 123 Main Street

Public Transportation

The library is accessible via MBTA Bus routes 52, 57, 59, 70, 70A, 71, Express 502, and Express 504. It is less than a five minute walk to the library from the buses that arrive at Watertown Yard.

Parking

Limited, metered parking is available in the parking lot behind the Library and on the street. Metered parking is limited to 12 hours in the parking lot, 4 hours on the street.

Parking is $0.50 per half hour. Meters are monitored Monday through Saturday between 8 AM and 8 PM. Sundays are free.

Four charging stations are available in the rear of the parking lot, designated for electric and hybrid electric cars.

Book Drops

In addition to the book drops in the front and rear of the Library there is a drive up book drop on Thaxter Street between the Library and Town Hall. There are also two remote book drops conveniently located in town that are emptied daily. One is next to the Middle School (68 Waverly Avenue) on Bemis and Waverly Streets. The other is at the Hosmer Elementary School (1 Concord Road) on Boylston Street.